Department of Physics

About Department

  The Physics department was established in the year 1980 during the inception of the college. Physics department primarily focuses on academic growth and excellence of under graduate Engineering students. The department offers engineering Physics theory and Practical courses to students of first/second semester of different Engineering streams. Department also offers an open elective course for higher semester engineering students. The Engineering Physics bridges the gap between what the students learnt before and the new engineering subjects of different branches. The department consists of 7 faculty and 4 non-teaching staff. Teaching faculty are highly qualified, trained, dedicated and also involved in research. The department has been getting excellent results both in theory and practical examination consistently. The Research center of Physics Department is recognized by Visveswaraya Technological University, Belagavi. Material synthesis lab was established with the research project funded by VTU, Belagavi.  Three students have received Ph.D. degree from the center and two students are currently pursuing their Ph.D. The research interest of the faculty are in the fields of Synthesis of bulk and nanoparticles of manganites and characterization, Dielectric studies of Polymer composites, Experimental condensed matter Physics. The research group has published more than 30 papers in international/national journals and presented research papers in  international/national conferences.



To include strong analytical skills among the students so that they can understand and analyse complex engineering problems with relative ease. To provide a strong foundation in Physics to prepare high quality technocrats.

  • To impart quality education both in theoretical as well as experimental Physics.
  • To impart basic concepts of science to engineering students, which enables them to be high quality engineers.